WIP Wednesday – Lempster Progress

What doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger right?  Or at least it gives you numb fingertips.

Progress on the Lempster is slow but seeing the pattern reveal itself is rewarding.  Less rewarding is that every time I pick it up I manage to make yet another mistake.  However I did convince myself that I’ll wear this jumper with all its mistakes with pride.

Unfortunately I now have to contend with the following:

1. Yarn shortage

Negative – despite knitting a swatch, doing the maths up front, I am running out of yarn.  I might be OK to wear a jumper with mistakes, but would I be OK to wear a jumper with a noticeable difference in the colour lots? It’s also $12 per ball, buying enough to finish may bankrupt me.

Positive – there is yarn left and available to purchase.  I’m preying to the knitting gods that there isn’t too much difference in the colours.  If there was no yarn left to purchase the situation would be much more dire!

2. Sizing

Negative – did I mention that I did a swatch? Right up front I knew that this would be a mammoth effort so I did the necessary boring pre-work.  The resulting sizing should have been a jumper with 2 inches of negative ease.  I’m now concerned this will end up tight fitting; usually not a problem except that there has been some fud on Ravelry that the cable design looks like a vagina.  Now that it’s out there, it’s all I can see.  Will I be happy wearing a big, stretched vagina on my chest? Feminist in me says “Yes! You go girl!”.  Introvert in me is a little more… well… introverted.

Positive – the swatch did get bigger when I blocked it so there’s a possibility it’ll fit OK.  The feminist in me wants to list the cable design looking like a vagina as a positive too.  Vaginas are awesome after all.

photo (4)I guess the fact that I’m already thinking about knitting another with no mistakes in a brighter colour means I’m enjoying this right?

Check out other WIPs on Tami’s blog.

9 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – Lempster Progress

  1. I LOVE this sweater (somehow I missed the new knitty??!) I hate living on the edge like that!!! (my life is so exciting….this IS living on the edge for me—yarn issues!) Hope it works out—-it’s amazing how much yarn those cables eat up. (I really think it can be blocked B-I-G so I think you are good there!)

  2. Pingback: Finished Objects Friday – Owlie Socks for Ang | alikelylass

Please reply, I love all comments!

