Finished Objects Friday – Lion and Crab

After struggling for a few weeks to find motivation for my projects, I think I may have my mojo back!

It almost came to a head last week when I finally finished the lion.  The last few hours of it were a massive struggle and when I was finally done, I never thought I’d pick up a hook or needles again.  Even this adorable creature wasn’t enough to give me a FO high.

photo (1)Instead of the typical drive to start a new project, I instead felt utter relief and spent the next few days being a complete, unproductive slob.

For the most part I was enjoying my slobbishness, the only issue was that the daughter of my longest friend is about to turn one and I had planned all year to make her something.  I agonised for days over whether I could, should, would do it.

And then Monday morning a miracle happened.  I woke up, after a long sleep, remembered it was a public holiday, and that I didn’t have to drag my ass to work, and that I had another day before I had to face the stress again.  My fingers were itching!

This little guy was done before the public holiday was over.  In fact he was done just after lunch!  Lucky he got to see a bit of Aussie sun before being sent over to cloudy, wet England.

IMG-20131007-00083I needed to check that my friend hadn’t moved house since our last correspondence.  During which time he kept an eye on things at work to make sure the stress didn’t get too out of hand and remind me why I do the job that I do – to pay for my yarn habit of course!

IMG-20131008-00084Yesterday he began his long journey over to the other side of the world.  I miss him dearly. I may need to make another little friend to keep me company at my desk and remind me of the important things in life when work gets out of hand.

Does anyone else bring their creations to work?

Check out other Finished Objects on Tami’s Blog.

2 thoughts on “Finished Objects Friday – Lion and Crab

  1. Those are too cute! The lion is adorable. The idea of a crab to keep at your desk is perfect, since it’s so small. Thank you for including the pattern in your post. I am already thinking of Christmas presents I can use that for since I live in Maryland, USA, and we’re famous for our crabs from the Chesapeake Bay. That is absolutely perfect! Thanks for including the pattern! 😀

    • Thanks and no worries! You should go and check out the other amigurumi from Fresh Stitches, there are heaps of wonderful patterns there – all really cute and not too difficult.

Please reply, I love all comments!

