WIP Wednesday – Angela’s Mittens

Last week I was chatting with one of my besties over messenger and she mentioned needing some mittens.  Sydney is not the coldest place in the world but the mornings and evenings can still get brisk enough to need some coverage on the extremities!

When people around me express a need for something woolen and knitted I get as excited as a child before Christmas.  It means I get to make something for someone that they want and need. Hurray!

Within a few minutes of searching on Ravelry Angela had found the pattern she wanted, Mittens.  I’m going to alter it to knit in the round as I hate/am not very good at sewing things up and making it look nice.

Started it last night and continued on the train to work this morning.

IMG-20130731-00023

I’m using Adorn Silky Merino in Claret.  I’ve made a few things in this yarn already: two of these Capot Scarves; one Reversible Basketweave Baby Blanket; and one Hooded Seedstitch Baby Blanket. This colour is left over from the latter.

Check out some other Works in Progress on Tami’s Blog!

Note on the other Adorn Silky Merino projects:

If I’m completely honest, this yarn is not very practical for a baby blanket.  It’s not cheap and I don’t think it’s machine washable. But it’s so soft and squishy and I love knitting with it so much that I couldn’t help myself.

Meanwhile my Capot Scarf is a winter staple. It’s the first item of clothing that I knitted after re-discovering knitting 3 years ago and it’s the first thing knitted in the round.  I love it so much and rarely leave home without it.

7 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – Angela’s Mittens

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Sleeping Cat and Twin Hat | alikelylass

Please reply, I love all comments!

