WIP Wednesday – Nelson Owl for Ang

I’m still working on my husband’s Manly Scarf. I only have a few more bands to go but I keep finding excuses to do other things.  I have missed the goal date of his birthday (end January) and I’ve also missed the goal of the beginning of the footy season (it started three weeks ago).  I have about a month or two before it gets cold enough to need a woolen scarf though so I’m not feeling too bad about it.

The most motivating reason to finish this scarf is so that I can start my sock knitting course from Craftsy. I’m pretty good at not starting too many things at once, I think one knitting project and one crochet project is more than enough.  So I won’t start knitting something else until the scarf is done.

Doesn’t mean I cannot crochet something though! And I’ve also found some new time in the day to fit in some crochet; being the 45 minute train ride to and from work each day.  Crochet is the perfect craft for the train as I tend to crochet smaller objects (being toys) and I find my elbows aren’t always jutting out like they do when I knit.

Last week I managed to finish two Easter gifts for my step-kids (keep an eye out for Finished Objects Friday!).  And this week I’m getting started on a Nelson Owl for my bestie Ang.

I’m terribly late for her birthday too (late February) but I figure better late than never. And with the progress I’m making (I’ve actually made the body and the head already even though the photo below only shows the head) I reckon I’ll have it done by the time I see her Saturday night.

(I wonder what my chances are of getting the scarf done by then too? If so I could spend some of the Easter long weekend learning to knit socks!)

I took the photo below from my phone. You probably can’t see but this is all sitting on my knee.  The gorgeous little bag was made for me by another bestie who sews, Lindsey.

IMG-20130327-00194Now that I’m organised to crochet on my train journeys I am so much happier in the mornings and the train home doesn’t drag so much.  Seeing how much I’ve accomplished with that “wasted” time makes me wish I’d started doing it sooner.

All I need now is to get over my car-sickness so I can make use of all that time driving to pick up and drop off the kids!

6 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday – Nelson Owl for Ang

  1. I’m a huge supporter of commuting craft ! it’s where I get all my crochet done too!

    I also can only manage one knitting project at a time. but I have a plethora of crochet projects on the go!

  2. The train is a great place to get some crafting done 🙂 I used to do the same when I worked in the city, it helped take the stress out of the long trip as well 🙂

Please reply, I love all comments!

