A Year of Monsters

2012 was a big year. Many things were going to happen this year, some of which came to pass (I got married) and some of which didn’t (the house renovations are still with council). It’s also the year that I took an online class from Craftsy called Design Your Own Monster.

I was quite new to crochet having only learnt how at the end of 2011, and in a short time I was hooked. (Please don’t judge me for that pun, I know it’s not the first time someone has used it in relation to crochet and it definitely won’t be the last. It is entirely appropriate though so I feel justified despite your groans!)

The little creatures I learned to make in this course were so simple and yet so fun and satisfying that I just had to make one for each of the little people around me.

The first was for my niece’s 4th birthday. Note my lovely husband modelling without protest; one of the many reasons I married him.

Image

The eyes were a bit tricky, but despite them being not-quite-round she loved it. She’s named it Monster’s Inc and has even taken him to day care for show and tell. I consider that a success!

Image

My next attempt was for another niece’s 6th birthday. This one had no bulgy eyes and so I was much happier with how it turned out. It was also a fair bit simpler.

Image

For my last niece’s 6th birthday I went for one of the other patterns from the class. By this time I had made some small improvements in my technique; the eyes are properly round this time, but they are pointing in slightly different directions. My wonderful husband told me that added to the monster’s charm; yet another reason I love him!

Image

(My cat Sebastian tried to gnaw on him a bit but it was my fault for using his jungle gym as a photography stand.)

After finishing these three handsome harrys I was feeling much more bold about working something not from a pattern. So for my step childrens’ birthdays (11 and 8) I asked them to design their own. We spent a bit of time drawing on paper and came up with the following. They’re pretty much just variations on the patterns included as part of the class but I was happy to take baby steps!

This was what my 11 year old step daughter came up with.

Image

And this was my 8 year old step son’s. Note the perfectly round eyes! Was very happy with this one.

Image

So we’re at the end of 2012 now and I have one nephew left who needs a monster. He lives in a different state and is only turning 4 so I didn’t have an option to get him to design something for himself. This time I would need to get my own creative juices going!

I’m not really one for planning, I prefer to jump right in. I knew I wanted eyes so I crocheted up a few white bulgy eyes and got my husband to put the black pupils in. (Yet another reason I was right to marry him. I’m not strong enough to get the back on those tiny plastic screws so when I finish an eye I hand him the eye and the pupil and he drops what he’s doing to finish it for me!)

Then I started on the body, finishing off the yarn I used for some of the previous monsters. I thought this one should be on his side rather than upright so eventually I ended up with this.

Image

And this was where I got stuck. I was going to finish the body off as just an elongated sphere similar to the head, but for some reason that didn’t sit right with me. I went over and over different options, legs, cone shaping, maybe trying to get larger like a funnel. After a while I admitted I was stumped and went to my step kids for advice.

As usual they were full of ideas! My step son in particular said “Why don’t we give him a spiky back like a dragon?”.

Perfect! In a little while (using the other end of the ball of yarn so I didn’t have to cut the end, thanks for that tip Fresh Stitches!) I’d crocheted up a few spikes and they were ready to attach once I’d made the body a bit bigger.

Image

I decided to end the body off in a cone shape using the same technique as the above spikes but in reverse. Was a bit tricky to stuff it as it was getting smaller and smaller but it was totally worth it in the end.  I think this monster is my favourite so far, probably because it used a lot of the techniques taught it the class to come up with something new.  My nephew’s birthday is not until after Christmas but I hope he loves it as much as I do!

IMG-20121202-00136

4 thoughts on “A Year of Monsters

  1. I will say I love the imballencdd eyes but you did achieve perfectly round ones and I applaud you!!! Many women in my family do this type of thing along with sewing and mending but it has skipped a generation. I have tried but can’t seem to understand how to use the hook and yarn with out having a tangled mess in the end, I rock the chain though lol. I love your monsters!!! So very cool

  2. Pingback: My Biggest Crocheted Item (to date) | alikelylass

  3. Pingback: Finished Objects Friday – Zoe’s Monster | alikelylass

Please reply, I love all comments!

